Road Closures: Upper Newtownards Road

18/01/2018

Letter from John McQuillan (Contracts) Ltd Re: Belfast Rapid Transit Project - Upper Newtownards Road.

John McQuillan (Contracts) Ltd on behalf of DfI Roads is currently carrying out works for the Belfast Rapid Transit (BRT) project on the Upper Newtownards Road. BRT is an ambitious and innovative project which will create a new and dynamic public transport system connecting East Belfast, West Belfast and Titanic Quarter via the City Centre.

Essential carriageway re-surfacing works on the Upper Newtownards Road BRT scheme are scheduled to be carried out on the dates below. As you will see our plan is to carry out the works starting at 19:00 on a Saturday night and running right through to Sunday night/Monday morning. We envisage that works will be finished earlier than Monday morning however, as a contingency measure we would ask you to be prepared nevertheless. 

  • 19:00 on Saturday 20th January 2018 – 06:00 on Monday 22nd January 2018

  • 19:00 on Saturday 27th January 2018 – 06:00 on Monday 29th January 2018

  • 19:00 on Saturday 3rd February 2018 – 06:00 on Monday 5th February 2018

  • 19:00 on Saturday 10th February 2018 – 06:00 on Monday 12th February 2018

  • 19:00 on Saturday 17th February 2018 – 06:00 on Monday 19th February 2018

  • 19:00 on Saturday 24th February 2018 – 06:00 on Monday 26th February 2018  

Unfortunately due to the nature of the works and the late start times it is possible that the works will continue into the early hours of Sunday mornings.

During the above road closures, diversions will be in place from Knock Road Junction and Comber Road Junction via Knock Road, Kings Road, Old Dundonald Road and Comber Road (and vice versa; please see the diagram on reverse). Within the area of the works there will be access for affected residents and emergency vehicles only.