Go Excellence in Public Procurement Awards 2018


The winners of the GO Excellence in Public Procurement Awards Northern Ireland 2018/19 were announced at an Awards Reception in the Titanic Hotel, Belfast on Wednesday 14 March 2018.

The GO Awards Northern Ireland recognise public sector procurement excellence, celebrate the role public, private and third sector organisations play in supporting the delivery of public services and are the benchmark by which progress in public sector commissioning is measured. With over 30 finalists, featuring many key organisations from within Northern Ireland’s supply chain, the GO Awards Northern Ireland were a huge success and demonstrated many fantastic procurement initiatives.

Central Procurement Directorate (CPD), Graham Bam Healthcare Partnership (GBHP) and the Human Resources team, South Eastern Health and Social Care Trust were awarded the GO Buy Social/Sustainable Procurement award in relation to the Acute Services Block (ASB) project. The ASB is the first health project to pilot ring-fenced targets for ‘Looked After Children’ as part of the construction contract through the Buy Social construction model. This model provides for the contractors supporting 624 person weeks ring-fenced for ‘Looked after Children’ to support skills development and employment opportunities. The first individual has already completed 28 weeks of work. Other successes include the recruitment of two more individuals from a care background onto other Graham/GBHP projects and positive publicity from Youth Action and Include Youth (Belfast Trust) for GBHP’s work with care leavers on the ASB Project.

The judges were particularly impressed by the collaboration between all parties.

The winners have gained automatic entry as finalists to the UK National GO Awards, which will be announced in Manchester on 24 April 2018.


The award was received by Suzanne McCorry (South Eastern Trust Transition and Employment Support Service), Ryan McChesney (Buy Social placement with Vaughan Electrical), Attracta Mathews and Antoinette Hillen (GBHP).